Lannoye Elementary School's Kendra Wetzel wins Golden Apple

Lannoye Elementary School's Kendra Wetzel wins Golden Apple

March 8, 2017


Lannoye Elementary School kindergarten teacher Kendra Wetzel is a 2017 Greater Green Bay Chamber Golden Apple award winner.

Wetzel was notified of the award during a surprise gathering Wednesday morning at her classroom. Cindy Van Asten of M3 Insurance, one of the Golden Apple sponsors, walked into Wetzel’s classroom followed by crews from WLUK TV and the Greater Green Bay Chamber to record the moment.

Each year, the Golden Apple Awards program improves community awareness of the quality of education in the Greater Green Bay area by recognizing high standards of professionalism, leadership and innovation in teaching with the Golden Apple Awards. Seven recipients (individuals and/or teams) are selected annually through a multi-level screening of anonymous applications and personal interviews. Selection criteria are based on the National Board of Professional Teaching standards, which identify the essential knowledge, skills and dispositions expected of experienced, quality teachers.

Wetzel has taught at Lannoye for three years and taught overall for seven years.

“I am honored to share what we do here in the classroom and in the Pulaski Community School District.”

Wetzel said she was shocked and excited to learn she had won the award.

“I love every day. It’s a true adventure and these guys (as she pointed to her students) have been taking me on a ride every day.”

PCSD superintendent Bec Kurzynske said, “We’re very excited to congratulate Kendra on her award as a 2017 Golden Apple recipient.”

Kurzynske noted Wetzel is the 40th Pulaski Community School District teacher to be recognized with a Golden Apple award since the program’s inception in 1994.

 “It’s simply a testament to the fabulous staff we have throughout the district. Congratulations to Kendra and all our fantastic staff.”

This year, nearly 80 PCSD teachers received Golden Apple nominations. Of those, five were named Teachers of Distinction. Besides Wetzel, they are:

• Amy Wright, PCMS choir teacher

• Marissa Steffel, PCMS Family and Consumer Science teacher

• Ben Otto, PHS business and Project Based Learning teacher

• Jeff Gosse, PHS science teacher

The 24th-annual Golden Apple awards ceremony is 5:30 to 9:30 p.m. April 19 at Radisson Hotel & Conference Center, 2040 Airport Drive. It will also be broadcast on WLUK.